Ano Nuevo, Peinada Nueva

Trent’s Staph infection is beginning to clear, finally!  His beautiful face is emerging from behind all those crusty scabs.  The small, hard, spreading bumps near the wounds turned out to be fungal overgrowth from all the topical antibiotic.  What a relief!  While planning this adventure I’d researched several companies that provide emergency evacuation from 3rd world countries back to the States.  It’s usually for severe medical illness or injury.  Of course a simple skin infection does not require heli med evac!  But had the Staph entered his bloodstream?  Had he gone septic? At what point would I have to make the call between Mexican hospital and medical care and American? The lesions on his shins, arms and hands didn’t worry me so much.  But Trent’s cheeks, both ears, one side of his nose and all around one eye were dotted with blisters. Each day they spread, even after the start of antibiotics.  I started thinking about an exit strategy-what to do IF.  Was I being a nervous nellie, or just  a concerned mom?  They really aren’t so far apart!  We now have a relationship with the local English-speaking doctor, which is reassuring.  Here’s his link  www.sayulitadoctor.com

We went up to San Pancho, 15 minutes north of Sayulita, yesterday.  We had lots of reasons to go.  One  was to see Oma, the twins’ grandmother.    I also wanted to  find out where the hospital was.  Another was to check out the beach. And the last was to have Patty cut my hair. 

NEW YEAR, NEW DO!

 

with my “stylist” and friend Patty

7 Comments

  1. Patty said,

    January 6, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    Hey Colleen!!!
    I really like your blog. It looks nice, simple, not overloaded and with a lot of pics. My personal favorite story is the one where I cut your hair. 😉 I didn´t realize Eternity was taking pics of the whole process. That´s really cool!!
    I would say, you definitely look younger with that hair cut and absolutely beautiful!! Congratulations for making that decision!!
    A big hug!!
    Patty

  2. Kat said,

    January 6, 2010 at 7:28 pm

    Looks Good! You look 10 years younger.

  3. Gael said,

    January 6, 2010 at 8:26 pm

    Well….you are just full of surprises! Quite the hair cut but it looks really cute on you. It is probably more practical in your climate. Will Trent follow? 🙂
    Staph infection looks nasty, however, it doesn’t look like MRSA. Now that you are officially a “nervous nellie” mom….consider this. Children rarely need to be hospitalized….however, you are out of the country and should have a “just in case” plan. Sometimes being a nurse is not a good thing!
    Love
    gael

    • January 7, 2010 at 10:23 am

      When we arrived in Nov. it was the heat that pushed me to chop off my shoulder-length hair. The humidity gave what hair that was left all kinds of wave and texture. I looked more like my older brother Chris. The buzz was just a thing to do–possibly symbolic, kinda fun to try something new, sort of a personal Burning Man, one less thing to do in the morning. Dang aren’t I gray?! Now I look more like my younger brother Kent.

  4. Michelle said,

    January 10, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    Colleen you look beautiful…. in the NOW!!

  5. Diedria said,

    January 13, 2010 at 12:18 pm

    what a wonderful haircut I would have done it, i finally decided after chasing Levi (11/2 years old now) around I didnt have that extra half hour in the morning for me i got 6 inches off and the hubby likes it but if i went much shorter he might have freaked out, glad the little guy is doing better my little guy goes in tomorrow for surgery but it should all work out fine. He is having a orchiopexy, I will let you know how is goes.

  6. Diedria said,

    January 15, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    levi did great in surgery it ended up he had a hernia also so they fixed that but found out he also has a hernia on the left side so he goes back in in three months for his second surgery, he has recovered in less than 24 hours and they told us he should not walk for 12 hours due to the spinal block however he was running and so were my nerves in just 4 hours after surgery they told me not to let him play on ride on toys for 4 weeks ahhhhhhhhhhhhh so needless to say we had to hide everything (he is a true boy) well love to you both i love your blog and being able to keep in touch!! give Trent a hug


Leave a Reply

